Putting Myself Out There

Lately it has been on my mind that since high school I don’t really have as many incoming friends as I do ones that are going. More importantly, I am looking to perhaps add a friend that I can connect to on a deeper level of friendship, someone I can call my best friend.

It made me reflect on who I call friends now. Currently as it stands, my only way of making friends is through work and online, since I am not currently going to school (took the summer off). As far as work goes, there isn’t much to be said, I really don’t linger around to socialize, I just want to get in and out of that hellhole. Online, however, is where most of my friends are made.

One friend in particular, who happens to be the best friend I got at the moment, lives far, far away from me. Though we will meet sometime near the end of this year due to both of us going to Blizzcon 2010, he can only be so much for me. His personality is what made me like him but it is also his personality that keeps me from connecting to him in a too meaningful of a way. He very well thought out and is not the emotional type, yet I do know him to not be without. Anyway, we agreed that we would be damn good friends if we were only closer in distance. To be honest I considered going to school out there simply to do just that, but I decided that the decision may not be wise in the end.

I suppose I am looking for someone I can really call my true best friend. Someone who considers me their best friend too. Someone who it wouldn’t be thought strange to put my arm around and let them know that they mean a great deal to me. Perhaps someone who needs not to hear it at all, but nonetheless I would say it anyway.

I have been thinking about ways I can put myself out there again. Scratch that, to put myself out there for the first time. I am underage so bars are not the solution. I’m more the quiest type so concerts will not do. Fencing starts up next month and I will be doing that, but we meet just once a month and leaves little room for socializing.

One way would be through craigs list, perhaps answers an ad reading they are looking for some friends to chill with. That website, however, does not appeal to me. It leaves me feeling too worried over what could go wrong. To be completely honest, I am not here for a popularity contest— writing here that is. So I admit that I once posted an ad myself on craigslist looking for someone once. Upon posting I knew that I wouldn’t have the nerve to reply to any emails I might have gotten, but the other half was more curious at what responses I would get.

Man this life is mind boggling.

~ by TJ on July 22, 2010.

Leave a comment